jump to navigation

Through the ages April 29, 2010

Posted by Jason Bergunder in Painting.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Sometimes I like to reminisce. Just go through my collection over the years just to see how I improved. 7 years ago, to my first year of this hobby, I was just like any other kid learning how to paint. I started with the very basics. Like base coats and drybrushing basics. And now, I shudder at the thought of drybrushing my models. My standards and skill level have risen so much as to actually shun certain techniques in favour of new learned or more complex techniques. Unfortunately, I do not have the will power to repaint those older models. Nowadays, you will not see a model of mine I have painted recently without some sort of highlights, blending, freehand, and if I feel like it, NNM.

This is my painting time-line, if you will. The complexity pretty much changes from year to year.

Dark Eldar was my first army. You could probably imagine what they may have looked like. Flat colours, drybrushing. If you notice, the gun uses Brown ink. Just for those who remember back then. (It was only a few years ago lol)

Next is the Guard. This is a friend’s model that I painted up for him. Here the painting is far cleaner.

Next is a Juggernaut of Khorne. This was painted for my friend, but he decided that Warhammer was not for him and gave his entire army to me. About 1500 points worth and, me being me, I didn’t argue :). Here we have that starting of highlights and experimenting on layering and striping.

Next is Frodo. Here we have the start of blending. Or at least thin layers. The base looks better too.

Next is my pride and joy. An Eldar Autarch. I entered him into the GW Surrey Golden Demon preliminaries in 2007 and he got to go to The Toronto Golden Demon. This was my first time entering a Golden Demon. My Autarch ended up being placed as a Finalist. Basically forth. I didn’t get a trophy, but I got a pin 😀

Next is Inquisitor Coteaz. I think this guy was the true start to my extreme standards. I was reading the White Dwarf and saw this new addition to the ‘Eavy Metal Team, Darren.  I Thought, well lets read up on what he has done. I turned the page, WOW. As far as I was concerned, Darren was the NNM goto guy. Very talented young guy. He is the one that has been winning the eavy metal contests at the studio lately. Anyways, Coteaz was my first attempt at NNM. I entered him in the 40k single model category at the last Vancouver Conflict in 2008 and got second place.

Next is a Grey Knight Terminator. Another attempt at NNM. There seems to be more consideration to the lighting. Freehand is added. I copied it from a picture I found on the internet. I took the picture and just made it smaller in my mind 😉

Next is the Fanatic being thrown model that you could get from a White dwarf subscription. This model is pretty much my minimum standard for any model I paint, including those in an army, no matter how Horde-like they are. Sorry it’s not 40k. I could find a different model if Fantasy is offensive to you 😛

Finally, is my latest skill testing model. I made the model from one of those events at Conflict in 2007. This is the best paint job I felt I could do (excludng freehand) as of January 2009. I have yet to do a skill testing model for this year. I was thinking of entering this in the Golden Demon, but they got rid of the Canada Games Day. Now none of the store up here offer a preliminary or anything like that :(, It is a Tzeentch Sorcerer sacrificing some poor guardsman. The sorcerer himself was made at Conflict, the base was made later.

Comments»

1. matthew Fishbein - March 22, 2011

yo jason nice its max your cousin cool stuff 🙂


Leave a Reply

