jump to navigation

Choosing the Chapter April 12, 2010

Posted by Kevin Hetmanski in Army building, Space Wolves.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

by Kevin H.

After a few years, I have finally decided to get back into Warhammer 40K. With a lot of encouragement from my friends(with torture the Inquisition would be proud of), the task is left up to me to choose an army, build it, paint it, and play with it. I’ve decided that my journey in this will be a great guide to new or returning players.

After reading a few of the Horus Heresy novels, I was set on the Space Marines. The question was whether to be loyalist or traitor. It was a tough choice, Iron Warriors are my favourite Chaos Marines while the loyalists had the Dark Angels and the Space Wolves in the lead. My decision making was purely out of preference, I didn’t search what was dominating the tournaments or who has the most cheese in their army. My decision was based off of how much I like the army, the models, the fluff, the codex. I recommend this sort of method to all new players, doesn’t matter how many tourneys you win if you don’t like the army you’re using!

Oh the choices...

Spess Mehrens!

Veteran players always recognize the Space Marines as the noob choice. The Space Marines (and especially Ultramarines) have always had that sort of reputation as the noob army. Don’t let this influence you! The Space Marines are the poster boys of Games Workshop, and with the amount of publicity and expanded universe material they get, it’s no wonder that they remain to be a fan favourite. The attractive thing about Space Marines is how customizable they are, from their paint schemes to their codex. Choosing a chapter or making your own is one of the hardest(and most fun) parts of playing Space Marines. Doesn’t matter who you are, everyone has a Space Marine chapter that fits their style and personality perfectly.

Sons of Russ

After weighing the options I finally chose the Space Wolves, they have a great selection of unique models and the fluff in their codex is just great. I couldn’t ask for a more distinct army. I’m sure the Dark Angels are a bit bitter at my decision, but I think I’ll survive with the Space Wolves at my back.

Over the next few weeks I’ll be documenting and blogging the creation of a fearsome Space Wolves army!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

